2018 Show Manager of the Year Awards Announced

2018 Show Manager of the Year Awards Announced

July 3rd, 2018 0 Comments


Four Industry Professionals To Be Honored with The Expo Group Show Manager of the Year Award

Irving, Texas – June 28, 2018 – The Expo Group, an exhibitions and events partner that invests in growth, has announced The Expo Group Show Manager of the Year (SMOTY) Awards for 2018. Honorees were nominated by their peers, voted upon by an independent industry judging panel and will be celebrated on Aug. 11 at the TSNN Awards.

“These are top-notch professionals advancing the objectives of not just their organizations but also their trade show community’s attendees, exhibitors, sponsors and partners,” says President and COO of The Expo Group Randy Pekowski. “The stories told in these award  nominations reveal commitment to overcoming obstacles, trying innovative experiences, serving their clientele and driving their teams to excel – the intangibles not easily measured but of lasting impact.”

2018 SMOTY Honorees


Tier I, with 1-200 booths:

Kim McQueen

Executive Director, American Association of Dental Office Management


Tier II, with 201 to 500 booths:

Liz Miller

Vice President, JD Events


Tier III, with 501 to 1500 booths:

Manolita B. Moore, MBA

Vice President of Exhibit Sales and Operations, North American Veterinary Community


Tier IV, with 1,501 or more booths:
Mark Bogdansky

Senior Director of Meetings and Events, Auto Care Association

Iconic crystal SMOTY obelisks will be awarded to each honoree at an Aug. 11 ceremony in Louisville, Kentucky, as part of the TSNN Awards weekend celebrating success in the trade show space. Each will receive a donation from The Expo Group to the charity or educational institution of their choice. Since the award’s inception in 2000, almost $80,000 has been donated. To match the donation for any or all of these honorees, please contact The Expo Group.

About the SMOTY Awards

The Expo Group Show Manager of the Year Awards is a program in place since 2000 that honors individual professionals based on four criteria: innovative practices, customer service, overcoming obstacles, commitment to excellence categories. The awards are open to all those bringing buyers and sellers together at a trade show and are intended to reward the qualitative accomplishments of the person, not the quantitative performance of an event. See past honorees at www.theexpogroup.com/SMOTY.


About The Expo Group

The Expo Group is a trusted exhibition and events partner that helps organizations grow their attendance, exhibitor and sponsorship revenue through the design and execution of unique, compelling and memorable experiences. The company has headquarters near Dallas with offices in Atlanta, Boston, Orlando, Las Vegas, Chicago, Austin/San Antonio and Washington D.C. Learn more at www.theexpogroup.com or contact Dana Freker Doody at 972.580.9000 or dfrekerdoody@theexpogroup.com.

Giving Back, Industry Related, Press Release, Remarkable People, SMOTY Awards