The Expo Group Show Manager of the Year Trophies Presented

The Expo Group Show Manager of the Year Trophies Presented

October 31st, 2016 0 Comments

 Photo courtesy ©The Photo Group

Irving, Texas – October 31, 2016 – The Expo Group Show Manager of the Year Award winners for 2016 were honored Saturday at the TSNN Awards in Atlantic City, N.J.

The five show managers, nominated by their peers and selected by an independent judging panel, were chosen for making a difference in their buyer-seller communities and for bringing passion to their work. Each received the iconic crystal obelisk trophy and a donation to their favorite charity. They join the ranks of 64 former SMOTY winners honored since The Expo Group began the awards program in 2000 as a way to shine a spotlight on the people who make this business great. 

2016 Honorees

Tier I – 1 to 150 booths
Leslie Wiernik, Executive Director, National Association of Subrogation Professionals
Charity: St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
After 30 years in the insurance industry, Leslie took an event that was experiencing decline and, as Executive Director of NASP, led her team to turn it into a consistent success with an emphasis on customer service and attention to every detail.
Tier II – 151 to 300 booths
David Heilbrunn, Show Manager, Coffee Fest 
Charity: Café Femenino Foundation
A two-time SMOTY winner, David has led Coffee Fest into countless venues across the country in his 25-year tenure to create a successful atmosphere for independent and chain shops serving consumers as well as their supply-chain professionals.

Tier III – 301 to 700 booths
Amy Schwandt, Show Manager, AC Business Media
Charity: Annie’s Locker
Doubling the conference program for National Pavement Expo and creating energizing networking events such as a party at the NASCAR Hall of Fame, Amy has brought new life to the trade show and reached new customers at the same time.

Tier IV – 701 to 1,500 booths
Lisa Allen, Senior Show Manager, Informa Exhibitions
Charity: National Multiple Sclerosis Society
Lisa is widely known as a true pro, and for two of Informa’s shows she has led her team to master that balance of what’s right for the company and for their association partners, not to mention the attendees, exhibitors and sponsors.

Tier V – 1,501+ booths
Jo Ann Miller Marshall, Executive Vice President, AmericasMart Atlanta
Charity: St. James United Methodist Church, Atlanta
A positive visionary, Jo Ann never hesitates to stand alongside her team facing customers and working diligently to develop programs that benefit all involved with the 13 trade shows she manages.

SMOTY awards are judged by an independent panel and are open to anyone responsible for the production of an event with exhibition space, regardless of any affiliation with The Expo Group. Nominations are accepted year-round at

Visit About SMOTY to meet previous award winners and learn more about the program. 

About The Expo Group

The Expo Group is a trusted exhibition and events partner that helps organizations grow their attendance, exhibitor and sponsorship revenue through the design and execution of unique, compelling and memorable experiences. The company is headquartered near Dallas with offices in Atlanta, Boston, Orlando, Las Vegas, Chicago, Austin/San Antonio and Washington D.C. Learn more at or contact Dana Freker Doody directly at 972.580.9000 x1644, or on Twitter @theexpogroup.

Photo usable with The Photo Group credit.

Industry Related, Press Release, Remarkable People, SMOTY Awards